Toll-Free: 888.706.9869 Local: 434.688.0899
The Warren Firm Experienced. Results. Relationships.

FAQs About Bicycle Accidents

Those riding bicycles for recreation for means of conveyance are getting excellent exercise while also contributing to improvement efforts of the growing carbon emissions problem we face, yet they are exposed to much more serious and fatal injuries than those in passenger vehicles. We at The Warren Firm want to help by first providing answers to frequently asked questions surrounding your injury and what can be done to seek compensation.
  • Do I have to wear a helmet when riding a bicycle in Virginia?
    No, Virginia law does NOT require you to wear a helmet.

    BUT, a county or city can pass an ordinance to require children 14 years and younger to wear a helmet.

    Please remember that a helmet can help reduce your change of a severe injury if you are in a wreck.

    For more information on what is required to ride a bicycle on Virginia roads click here.
  • Are you required to wear a helmet when riding a bicycle in Virginia?
    Virginia Law does not require that helmets be worn when riding on roads in the Commonwealth. While the state does not mandate that helmets be worn, a Virginia county, city or town can pass an ordinance requiring children 14 years and younger to wear a helmet.

    Virginia Code Section 46.2-906.1

    Despite the fact that Virginia does not require helmets you and your family should always use a helmet. It will not help you avoid being in an accident but it can greatly reduce your risk of serious injuries should you be in an accident.
  • If I was involved in a Virginiabicycle accident and received injuries, what should I do?
    Virginia law requires the same from you whether you are involved in an automobile accident or a bicycle accident.

    If someone is injured or is killed or if the accident involves property damages, you must stop as close to the scene as possible and report you name and address and provide your drivers licenses to the police. If you cannot comply due to your injuries you must do so as soon as is reasonably possible.

    If your accident involves damage to unattended property you must make a reasonable effort to find the owner of the property. If you cannot find the owner you must leave a note or information in a conspicuous place and report the accident within 24 hours to the police.

Do You Have a Personal Injury Claim?

Tell Us Your Story by Requesting a Free Case Review
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.