Getting a Copy of your Virginia State Police Accident Report
Obtaining a Copy of your Virginia State Police Accident Report
It is important to note that the Virginia State Police do not maintain
accident reports completed by local police or sheriffs departments. You
will have to get in touch with your local station to obtain these reports.
The following information applies to Virginia State Police reports ONLY.
WHO may obtain a copy of a Virginia accident report (FR300)?
CODE OF VIRGINIA: § 46.2-380. Reports made under certain sections
are open to inspection by certain persons; copies; maintenance of reports
and photographs for three-year period.
A. Any report of an accident made pursuant to §§ 46.2-372, 46.2-373,
46.2-375, or § 46.2-377 shall be maintained by the Department for
a period of at least thirty-six months from the date of the accident and
shall be open to the inspection of any person involved or injured in the
accident or as a result thereof, or his attorney or any authorized representative
of any insurance carrier reasonably anticipating exposure to civil
liability as a consequence of the accident or to which the person has applied for
issuance or renewal of a policy of automobile insurance. The Commissioner
or Superintendent, or the area or division offices of the Department of
State Police having a copy of the report, shall on written request of
the person or attorney or any authorized representative of any insurance
carrier reasonably anticipating exposure to civil liability as a consequence
of the accident or to which the person has applied for issuance or renewal
of a policy of automobile insurance, furnish a copy of the report at the
expense of the person, attorney, or representative. Any such report shall
also be open to inspection by the personal representative of any person
injured or killed in the accident, including his guardian, conservator,
executor, committee, or administrator, or, if the person injured or killed
is under eighteen years old, his parent or guardian. The Commissioner
or Superintendent shall only be required to furnish under this section
copies of reports required by the provisions of this article to be made
directly to the Commissioner or Superintendent, or to the area or division
offices of the Department of State Police having a copy of any such report,
as the case may be. The Commissioner and the Superintendent, acting jointly,
may set a reasonable fee for furnishing a copy of any report, provide
to whom payment shall be made, and establish a procedure for payment.
Nothing contained in this section shall require any division office of
the Department of State Police to furnish any copy when duplicating equipment
is not available.
B. The Commissioner or Superintendent of State Police having a copy of
any photograph taken by a law-enforcement officer relating to a nonfatal
accident, shall maintain the negatives for such photographs in their records
for at least 36 months from the date of the accident.
WHAT information is needed to obtain a copy of an accident report:
*Requests must include all of the following information:
1. Names of all parties involved.
2. Date of the accident.
3. Location of the accident. (City or County and Highway/Interstate or
4. Investigating State Police trooper’s name. (Virginia State Police
does not maintain accident reports completed by local police or sheriffs
5. Payment of $8.00 per accident report, payable by company check or money
order made payable to the “Department of State Police.” No
personal checks accepted.
6. Written requests must include a postage-paid, self-addressed envelope.
HOW to obtain a copy:
1. Send a written request *(see above) to the State Police office closest
to where the crash occurred. Mailing addresses available at:
Virginia state map available at:
2. Or, personally visit your nearest Virginia State Police Division Headquarters
or Area Office. Office locations & directions available at
COST – There is an $8.00 fee per accident report, payable by company
check or money order made payable to the “Department of State Police.”
No personal checks OR credit cards accepted.
Virginia State Police employees cannot give legal advice, nor interpret
the law for members of the public. Information within this Web site is
provided for general guidance purposes only and may not apply to all factual
situations. Persons needing legal advice may contact the Virginia Lawyer
Referral Service at 1-800-552-7977 for referral to a private attorney
for consultation at a nominal fee.