FAQs About Bicycle Accidents
Do I have to wear a helmet when riding a bicycle in Virginia? | The Warren Firm
No, Virginia law does NOT require you to wear a helmet. BUT, a county or city can pass an ordinance to require children 14 years and younger to wear a hemet. Please remember that a helmet can help reduce your change of a severe injury if you are in a wreck.For more information on what is required to ride a bicycle on Virginia roads click here.
Are you required to wear a helmet when riding a bicycle in Virginia? | The Warren Firm
Virginia Law does not require that helmets be worn when riding on roads in the Commonwealth. While the state does not mandate that helmets be worn, a Virginia county, city or town can pass an ordinance requiring children 14 years and younger to wear a helmet. Virginia Code Section 46.2-906.1 Despite the fact that Virginia does not require helmets you and your family should always use a helmet.
If I was involved in a Virginiabicycle accident and received injuries, what should I do? | The Warren Firm
Virginia law requires the same from you whether you are involved in an automobile accident or a bicycle accident. If someone is injured or is killed or if the accident involves property damages, you must stop as close to the scene as possible and report your name and address and provide your drivers licenses to the police. If you cannot comply due to your injuries you must do so as soon as...